explore Armenia

General Information About Armenia

All visitors to Armenia must hold a valid passport and entry visa. For complete information regarding visas guidelines, please visit the official website of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs www.mfa.am/en/visa or contact your local Armenian Embassy or Consulate.

Facts & Figures
Country Official Name: Conventional long form: The Republic of Armenia
Conventional short form: Armenia
Local short form: Hayastan
Area: 29,800 sq. km.
Capital: Yerevan
Population: 3.7 million
Currency: Dram (AMD).
For current exchange rates please visit the Central Bank of Armenia’s website (www.cba.am)
Time: GMT + 4
Ethnic Composition: 96% Armenian. Minorities: Russian, Yezidis, Assyrians, Greeks, Ukranians, Jews, Kurds and others.
Language: Armenian
Religion: Christian (Armenian Apostolic)
Climate: Dry Continental
Current Voltage: AC 220V, 50Hz.
Internet Country Code: .am
Neighboring Countries: To the north – Georgia
To the south – Iran
To the east – Azerbaijan
To the west – Turkey